What I Watch: Summary

Here’s a chart that shows what kind of programming is available via the various solutions.  It should help in choosing the solution that most completely satisfies one’s programming needs.  That’s what you really wanted to know, right?  Keep in mind that Playon and Plex are servers that require a set top component and that neither of these can be used with the Sony Media Player (SMP).  Think of Playon and Plex as supplements to Roku that provide more programming but require a computer be running whenever programming is being served…

Just getting started please be patient!…

Popular  OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
Amazon Video X X X X
Crackle X X X X
Hulu X X
HuluPlus X X X X
Netflix X X X X
Vudu X X X
Education OTA  Playon Plex Roku SMP
CS50 X
Movies OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
Amazon Video X X X X
Crackle X X X X
Hulu X X
HuluPlus X X X X
Netflix X X X X
Vudu X X X
Music OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
News OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
Sports OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
Television OTA Playon Plex Roku SMP
Amazon Video X X X X
Hulu X X
HuluPlus X X X X
Netflix X X X X

This is a work in progress.

2 comments on “What I Watch: Summary

  1. How do you like your Sony Media Player? I’ve had the Logitech Revue for a couple of years, I love it and hate it at the same time, buggy, crashes, have to reboot.

    • The SMP-N200 is my favorite streamer. It is excellent hardware. The box is sleek but substantial. It includes an ethernet port plus wireless, standard composite, component, hdmi, and optical outputs, and a USB port. All those outputs come in handy. When a TV does not have HDMI or all the HDMI ports are in use, I can still stream 720p via the component interface. Older televisions work just fine with composite. All the outputs are live, so I can attach an SMP to my television and a monitor concurrently. The remote is sleek and has a significant set of control buttons. The menu interface is similar to the PS3 — you scroll across categories and vertically within categories. Their web site claims 54 channels, but I think some have been added which are not listed (I count 59 video channels plus six music channels plus a browser). All the major pay streamers are included in that list — even Youtube and YuppTV. Support for sideloaded videos is the best I’ve encountered on any streamer. I especially like that I can play one file in a folder and it will continue to stream all the files in that folder until I intervene. You can watch a season of something or have a marathon without interacting with the device. This is particularly nice with short videos — home or from the internet. I can play these videos whether I have internet of not, so when the lights go out or Sony discontinues support, I will be able to watch movies.

      While the SMP will not communicate with Playon, it works with Plex. I can fill in some of the missing content via that server. With YouTube moving into the premium content arena, the SMP, with its YT channel, may be pretty viable for some time.

      Best of all, these amazing devices can still be had for ~$30. FWIW, this is a nice device to take on a trip. Not only can one get entertainment, but the browser allows for on location investigation (internet search) and communication (email) via the browser. It’s obviously not for everyone, but it works for me.

Leave a Reply

