I DID NOT Subscribe to Dish Network Today

I cancelled the installation. When the work order arrived, it included only one receiver with HD plus SD out. It would cost another $7 for the second DVR. Not a big deal financially, but the transcript of the IM chat was clear — my local channels in HD on TWO TVs with DVRs on each. Not a big deal, but I wanted to get the facts up here.

I was putting together a review of Aereo and needed to price the competition.  After talking to Comcast ($184 + taxes and franchise fees) and DirecTV ($101 + taxes) I chatted with Dish Network.  Two DVRs and America’s Top 120 for $56.99/month ($36.99 for the first 12 months; no installation charges; HBO, Max, Sho, Starz, Blockbuster@Home for three months).  Looking at the AT120 lineup, I thought that was worth the asking price.

This is working for me right now.  There may come a day when I decide to invite Comcast, Verizon, DirecTV, Dish, or someone else into my home.  If I do, it’ll be because I find the service provided worth the fees charged.

That quote is from the Cutting The Cable page of this blog.  I wrote that four years ago.

We aren’t losing the antenna are we?

That’s what my wife asked when I told her we had subscribed to Dish.  This isn’t the end of OTA for us.  I’m just adding a box to two of my five televisions.  Dish offers channels that dovetail nicely with our OTA lineup.

By Len Mullen Posted in Boston

3 comments on “I DID NOT Subscribe to Dish Network Today

  1. I had Dish Network for years and liked them very much. The problem was when I went to upgrade to HD the satellite was in a different position in the sky and with my luck behind a thick cluster of trees not on my property. I currently have Verizon FiOS and I like them also. No complaints so far, but I still miss good old Dish.

    • We loved Dish for many years. We left when we went HD. Dish was slow to go that way and charged a premium for the content. Comcast lured us away with better prices and more HD content. That counts too!

  2. I cancelled the installation. When the work order arrived, it included only one receiver with HD plus SD out. It would cost another $7 for the second DVR. Not a big deal financially, but the transcript of the IM chat was clear — my local channels in HD on TWO TVs with DVRs on each. Not a big deal, but I wanted to get the facts up here.

Leave a Reply

